Food Ups and Downs

In keeping with the theme of the blog, I’ve got a happy story and a sad story to tell y’all. Let’s rewind to Sunday and relive the success first:

My future sister-in-law and her husband are currently remodeling their kitchen. While she is pregnant. I’ve never been pregnant, so I don’t know what it feels like to not have a kitchen while you’re growing a person inside of you, but I can’t imagine it is very much fun! My fiance is helping with the remodel, and since I have nothing to offer on that front, I decided to cook them dinner.

Sister-in-law brought over her pyrex pan, and I made food in it for them to take home and put in their refrigerator  which is currently located in either the living room, or the basement. I’m not really sure which.

I made this, which I found on Pinterest. I changed out the sausage for mushrooms, and then I made some with chicken chunks for the meat-eaters (including the sweet little baby!), and made a smaller pan straight vegetarian. I served it with a spinach salad and some roasted garlic bread. NAILED IT.

Fast forward to yesterday. I had big plans to make a simple dinner for the fiance and myself – Paninis and a salad. I know what you’re thinking… “How could she mess that up?” Well let me tell you.

It is hard to make paninis and a salad when you have no bread in the house, and no salad greens!!!

Basking in my failure, I ended up in a heap on the floor laughing while on the verge of tears. We live near a Taco Time, and the fiance suited up to run down and get us some bean burritos. It has been pretty cold around here lately, so he couldn’t quite make himself walk out the door. We just looked at each other, and suddenly it became clear. Instead of a simple home-cooked meal, we ordered two pizzas. TWO. One with soooo much meat for my man, and one thin crust veggie one for me. FAIL!

Leave a Reply

