Pinterest Friday!

Yesterday my good friend Sarah and I decided to make three side dishes/appetizers for a sort of “tapas style” dinner. In theory, this was a great idea. But Sarah and I have a history of not executing recipes properly. Take these ginger cookies as a recent example:

A-SUI0gCcAA5k4r

We really blew that one! So yesterday, after browsing Pinterest, we settled on Cheesy Broccoli Quinoa, Cornbread Stuffed Jalapenos, and Buffalo Cauliflower. Here is a summary of the results:

Cheesy Broccoli Quinoa

This recipe was awesome. 4 ingredients, 1 pot… done! And because you can buy frozen broccoli that is already chopped you really just dump everything in and its done. This was easily our most successful dish, and I will keep the recipe and make it again.

Cornbread Stuffed Jalapenos

We actually didn’t mess these up either, because they were very, very simple. But I’m still not sure we’d make them again. First of all, Sarah cut and gutted the jalapenos, and her fingers were on fire afterwards. Not to mention we both ended up crying and almost choking on the jalapeno fumes, which I didn’t even know was possible! Second of all…those little guys were way too spicy!!! The concept was absolutely spot on, but we fed them to our men as well, and we had them running for celery, ranch dressing and  glasses of milk to find relief. And they ended up needing Tums for heartburn afterwards. Sarah suggested that we add a dollop of cream cheese underneath the cornbread next time, and then “they’d probably be fine”. But nothing good comes out of us modifying recipes… So the moral of the story? If you LOVE spicy, these are great. You should make them. If you just LIKE spicy… don’t do it!

Buffalo Cauliflower

The goopy, boogery mess on the pan

The goopy, boogery mess on the pan

I was the most excited for this recipe. I’d been eyeing it on Pinterest forever, and finally the day had come! Well… I pulled a classic Carolyn – I didn’t read the recipe all the way through before starting.

So I dumped all the ingredients in the bowl, mixed them up, and coated the cauliflower. Only then did I read the recipe and realize that there were a few steps that I had missed. Like the part where it mentions which ingredients get mixed before the cauliflower’s trip to the oven, and which get poured on afterwards.

Well, there was no way to un-mix the ingredients. So I just dumped everything onto a pan and threw it in the oven with my fingers crossed. When I took the pan out later, it looked like boogers. The sauce had congealed, and it actually reminded me of the sticky, strange

mess we had when we made the ginger cookies! We served the goopy mess up anyway, and it actually tasted pretty good! But clearly, the order in which you do things mattered in this instance. I’ll try to remember that next time, but history shows that I never learn.

I don’t know what gets into my head that makes me think “I read the ingredients! I’ve got it from here!” I always end up so surprised that I missed something at the end. And I know that I have this problem with not following the procedure, yet still, as I stand in the kitchen with the ingredients in front of me, I make the mistake again and again and end up equally shocked at the result each time!

Leave a Reply

